INTERNATIONAL COMMISSION OF INQUIRY INTO THE CASE OF THE



Updated List of Endorsers 13 August 2013

- **Ricardo Alarcón**, former President, National Assembly, Cuba
- Damien Alegría, FMLN, member, Legislative Assembly of El Salvador
- Rafael Anglada-López, Puerto Rican lawyer, Member, Cuban Five defence team
- Rasheed Araeen, artist, UK
- Maximilien Arvelaiz, former Venezuelan Ambassador to Brazil
- Arnold August, author, journalist and lecturer, Canada
- Robert Ballagh, artist, Ireland
- **Dennis Banks**, co-founder American Indian Movement
- Miguel Barnet, novelist, President of UNEAC (National Union of Cuban Writers and Artists)
- Tony Benn, former Government Minister, UK
- Frei Betto, liberation theologist, Brazil
- William Blum, US author and historian
- GilbertBrownstone, art curator and gallerist
- Noam Chomsky, US academic and activist
- Julie Christie, actor, UK
- Ramsey Clark, lawyer, former United States Attorney General
- Frank Connolly, investigative journalist, Ireland

- Professor Gary Craig, Associate Director, Wilberforce Institute for Study of Slavery and Emancipation
- Angela Davis, academic and activist
- Andy de la Tour, actor, UK
- Miguel d'Escoto Brockmann, President UN General Assembly (2008-2009), former Foreign Minister of Nicaragua (1979-2000).
- Terry Eagleton, author and academic, UK
- **Maritza Espinales,** FSLN member National Assembly, Nicaragua
- Jane Franklin, writer and historian, USA
- Mighty Gabby, musician, Cultural Ambassador for Barbados
- Pierre Galand, President, European Humanist Federation
- Martin Garbus, Member, Cuban Five defence team, trial lawyer, author
- Lord Anthony Gifford QC, UK lawyer
- **Andres Gómez**, Cuban American journalist, Director. *Areito Digital*
- Nadine Gordimer, Nobel Prize Winner, South Africa
- Richard Gott, UK writer and journalist
- **Günter Grass**, Nobel Prize for Literature, Germany
- Claudia House Morcom, retired judge, Wayne County Circuit Court, Detroit

- Steven Kimber, Canadian author
- Ernesto Laclau, academic, Argentina
- **John Le Carré**, novelist, UK
- Max Lesnik, Director, Radio Miami, USA
- Mairead Maguire, Nobel Peace Laureate
- Alex Main, analyst, Centre for Economic and Policy Research, Washington DC
- Michael Mansfield, QC, UK legal
- Phil Manzanera, musician, Roxy Music
- Fabio Marcelli, attorney, Italian Association of Democratic Lawyers
- Fedrico Mayor Zaragoza, President, Peace Culture Foundation and former Director General of UNESCO.
- Cynthia McKinney, US politician and activist
- Professor Juan Carlos Monedero, Privacy Professor of Science at the Complutense University of Madrid and Director of Public Policy, Government and Citizenship, Complutense Institute of International Studies
- Fernando Morais, journalist and writer, Brazil
- Hugh O'Shaughnessy, UK writer and journalist
- Nurit Peled-Elhanan, Israeli academic and campaigner
- José Pertierra, Attorney at Law, USA
- John Pilger, investigative journalist, Australia
- Samuel Pinheiro Guimarães, former Vice Minister of Foreign Affairs, Brazil
- Yeidckol Polvensky Gurwitz, former Vice President of Mexican Senate
- **Ignacio Ramonet,** former editor *Le Monde Diplomatique*
- Vanessa Ramos, Continental President, American Association of Jurists

- Graciela Rosenblum, President, Liga Argentina de los Derechos del Hombre (League of Human Rights of Argentina)
- Emir Sader, Director, International Relations of CLACSO (Latin American Social Science Council), Argentine
- Peter Schey, President and Executive Director, Center for Human Rights and Constitutional Law Foundation, USA
- Wayne Smith, former Chief of US Interest Section, Havana
- Jon Sobrino, Jesuit priest, academic in El Salvador, Spanish
- Beinusz Szmukler, President, American Association of Jurists Consultative Council, Argentine lawyer
- Peter Tatchell, Director, Peter Tatchell Foundation, London UK
- William 'Willie' Toledo, actor and activist, Spain
- Emma Thompson, UK actor
- **Gaston Vogel**, member Supreme Court of Luxembourg
- Chris von Christierson, Director, Watch Hill Foundation, UK
- Alice Walker, Pulitzer prize winning author
- Mary Alice Waters, President, Pathfinder Press, USA.
- **Dame Vivienne Westwood,** international fashion designer
- Tony Woodley, Trade unionist, UK
- Jean Ziegler, former member UN advisory committee on Human Rights, Switzerland

Note: Endorsers will be asked how they wish to be identified in the publicity material for the Commission. Descriptions above are for identification purposes only.